Thread: One Way of Fixing an Out-of-Gamut Flower Shot

Real Name
    Ted

One Way of Fixing an Out-of-Gamut Flower Shot

This post is for those who are irritated by color clipping after converting to sRGB from a wide color space, such as ProPhoto, and who are more into viewing on a color monitor or posting on the Web.

I've been battling with a sunflower shot for 11 months and today got quite a good output, gamut-wise. I was so pleased, I posted the method on my website here:

http://kronometric.org/phot/convRAW/...compFlows.html

Warning - color management terminology used . . ;-)

Real Name
    Bruce

Re: One Way of Fixing an Out-of-Gamut Flower Shot

Ted, thanks for posting this. I read the post on your website with interest albeit not with 100% understanding. Is the simple workflow to use Dry Creek's profile converter program without embedding the profile?

Real Name
    Ted

Thanks Bruce,

For me, workflow depends on the intended target audience and, to an extent, on the captured image itself. For snaps made for illustrative purposes, i.e. not artistic merit, I go straight from raw to 8-bit sRGB JPEG in one shot with minimal processing (crop, resize, sharpen) and no worries about gamut clipping and such. For keeper images: watches get more attention to the watch-grail of sharpness. For flower shots, more care about everything. Landscapes less care with processing, more with composition. All my my output is JPEG sRGB, rarely printed, if ever.

By not embedding the V4 profile, the Profile Converter utility changed the image data less severely than otherwise (it seemed to me but it doesn't make much sense) and not all applications do a good job on images with an embedded V4 profile, I'm told. Embedding a V2 without changing the image data seemed to work much better.