Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Photo box problems

Photo box problems

Okay, I'm really new at photography, and I'm getting really frustrated with what I'm working on. I'm trying to take pictures of sewing buttons for my little online shop.

I've been using a photobox and my camera is the Kodak DX7630.

I have the settings on custom, fluorescent setting for whitebalance, and the aperture setting on 'high'. I also have it set to close up mode, and I have the flash off. I 'think' these are the settings I should be using.

The problem is that I can't seem to get the colors right very consistently at all. I was using a blue background, but I was told blue can make the problem worse, so I switched to a furry white fabric. The fabric turns out yellow tinted usually, but sometimes it will look brown or pink. This is usually during the same photoshoot. I assume some of it is from the buttons reflecting some light and making the fabric appear another color, but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do to make the pictures look consistent.

I am now trying a gray background, and it's looking better then the white, I presume because it reflects less color, and yet I end up with pretty much all shades of gray. I don't really know why the background seems to 'change colors' on all the pictures, sometimes on the same set of pictures with the same buttons, the background will look light light gray to a dark gray. I assume this is somehow my fault. Generally I don't move the lights, but I do scoot the camera around some so I get different angles of a shot. I'm also certain it's not a shadow because I've stayed out of the line of light.

Can someone help me?

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Photo box problems

Quote Originally Posted by Missnibbles View Post

Can someone help me?
    No.