Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pointers for shoot...?

Real Name
    Joanne

Pointers for shoot...?

Hello

I am relatively new to photographing with a DSLR. I have a Nikon D5000 and just bought a "nifty-fifty". A friend asked me if I would mind taking some photos of her (she is 8 months pregnant), her husband and their two black labs. They live on a mixed farm (beef cattle and apple orchards) and are very laid back, casual people. Both are paramedics....

Looking for any pointers re : shooting set-ups, time of day, things to be careful of...etc ))

Thanks
    Joanne

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Pointers for shoot...?

Quote Originally Posted by boulderwood View Post
    Looking for any pointers re : shooting set-ups, time of day, things to be careful of...etc ))
    First - What do you/they 'see' the final images as looking like? Are they, for example, going to be dreamy, romantic images. Or is this about folks living it out in the country and little side issues like being 8 months pregnant not getting in the way of normal life on the farm? Two very different moods. Are they going to be in B & W or colour?

Second - I take it we're talking about outdoor shots. If so, I'd suggest you don't want to be shooting in harsh direct sunlight. So where does the sun rise and set on their farm? So what is going to be the best time of day to get the light at the angles you want?

Backgrounds. You're not taking a photo of the people and the dogs. You're making an picture. And that's going to include everything that will be in that final rectangle (or square). So, what are you going to use as your backdrops? Are you going to make the backdrops a feature of the images, or are you going to throw that nifty-fifty wide open, narrow down the depth-of-field and put the background way out of focus so that you get it nicely blurred?