Thread: Low key photography

Real Name
    Thilak

Low key photography

Hi,

I'm a beginner and I was impressed by couple of low key photography. I have not external speed light flash with me. Can you please help me in the ways to practice for low key photography in home condition

Real Name
    Chris

Re: Low key photography

This helped my understanding on low and high key photography, along with much more.

https://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tu...istograms1.htm

Real Name
    Tom

I really enjoy taking low-key photos, too. The one thing that I can suggest is that low-key photos are very easy to "expose to the right." Your camera will try to make the scene look like normal mid-tones. Let it. Then, in post (you do shoot raw, don't you?), shift the exposure back down to the darkness that the scene actually was, compressing tones as necessary to fit the full range of brightness where appropriate. This way, your dark shot will be a lot more noise-free than if you exposed it "properly" when taking it. FWIW
    Low key photography

Real Name
    Darren

Hi Thilak

Other more experienced and quailified people might be able to help you but in the mean time try this. Try to place your subject away from your background. Set your ISO to 100. Put your camera into manual and set your shutter speed to the camera's maximum shutter speed. Try 1/200. The set your aperture at say F/5.6 and take a picture. Depending on the lighting conditions your resulting image may be dark, check the histogram. You want an image where the histogram is falling off the left hand side indicating that that there is little light hitting your sensor. If your histogram is not over to the left increase youe F number by a stop, take the photo and check again. Keep raising your f number until you get a histogram with the scale off to the left.