Thread: Infrared: Summer at the Park

Real Name
    Anthony

Infrared: Summer at the Park

Hello, all. I appreciate all the input that I have gotten in the past. I have learned a great deal and my pictures are getting better because of it. I know I seem to be the only person who takes infrared photography, but I think it creates great art and it gives me something to shoot at high noon when the light is terrible for traditional photography. Any, here are some shots on a hill at a local park. My wife and I had the day off of work and the kids were with the grandparents, so I convinced her to pose for me while we were out for a walk. The only editing I did on the blue ones were swap the red/blue channels (traditional for IR photos) and clone out some brush along the horizon. The red photo I just did some touch ups.

I am still a beginning photographer and still trying to improve my compositions. In these photos, I knew the pants were dark and the grass would be white, and that her shirts was white and the sky would be dark. I was hoping to have her waist be at the horizon in all the photos so that this contrast would pop out. I am also going to go back in a month or to to retry this shot when those trees have leaves on them to see what that looks like.

I love you comments and suggestions. Please....lay them on me. I look forward to see all of your photos too.

Real Name
    Shane

Re: Infrared: Summer at the Park

Anthony, I can't speak to any technical details regarding infrared photography but I will say that I like the third image quite a lot. In my mind to composition is good with the trees framing your wife as she ponders the sky. I wonder if a slight crop from the bottom and a little off the left (so both trunks are the same distance from the edge of the frame) would enhance this even more. Also, even though I logically know that this is not a straight horizon but a hillside in the park I wonder if a slight rotation down to the right would work?