Thread: Beautiful trap

Beautiful trap

I took these pictures some weeks ago,
    I got the macro lens in the bag but I did not carry the tripod...
    idiot...
    a bit of breeze made everything much more difficult, making the flower oscillating.
    I'm looking for C&C, and I'd like to know which one you prefer among the #1 and #2
    thank you

Nicola

Beautiful trap

Beautiful trap

Beautiful trap

Re: Beautiful trap

Hi!
    I am not a professional, so just take my opinion as very personal.
    I like the one in the vertical position, I guess because it is not really taken from the front , but from a different point. And, when I maximized it, on the right side of the picture - right on the green leaf in bokeh - I can see many colors, more lie tiny rainbows from the water drops XD I like that! I also like the "balance" of this position: there is not too much flower, not too much insect, not too much green... I also noticed that the yellow middle of the flower, in that picture, matches slightly with the yellowish from the leaves on the back.
    Well, not sure if it will help!

A couple of points come to mind, Nicola.

With the first two, I would like to have zoomed in a lot closer.

I can't quite work out the spider species. It looks a bit like a male Misumenia vatia but could be something else which we don't see in the UK.

That scene is potentially very interesting because the spider is eating a fly. However from a distance, the two just seem a confusing mixture.

Incidentally, I remember seeing exactly the same thing and was wondering what strange insect I had found. Until I managed to zoom in close enough, and started doing some thinking, when everything became obvious.