Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Histogram Programs

Histogram Programs

Hey, im not familiar with any photography. In fact Im not even sure how good my camera is. However, Im an engineering student and my professor wants me to take a histogram of stills of a video. My project requires that I characterize different behavior of plasma. And the most inexpensive way to do this is to take the histogram. But I have no idea what programs would do this.

So my question is what is the cheapest program that gives me simply a decent histogram at a given point? Are there any free trials of programs that i can download and use?

Thank you guys very much for your time.

Re: Histogram Programs

Histogram of what exactly? If the plasma brightness varies over time, then this is one thing, if its the colour, then its something else.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by JonathanC View Post
    Histogram of what exactly? If the plasma brightness varies over time, then this is one thing, if its the colour, then its something else.
    Hi Jonathan,

I suspect both

Hi usf,

Welcome to the CiC forums.

Depending how many frames we are considering, and how many times you need to repeat the analysis, it may be possible to save still frame images from each video frame, then analyse these one-by-one.

I think I am correct in saying even something free like Picasa 3 (google it) has a histogram display from still pics. You'd want one that shows the colours separately I suspect.

I think we need more info. to advise better as Jonathan says.

I bet this is something Steaphany would know a bit about!

Perhaps we can get you "into" photography while you're here

Cheers,