Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Still practicing my dog agility

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Still practicing my dog agility

Last week, here, I launched myself into the strange new world of dog agility photography.

Was at the second session yesterday and whilst Sheila and Garry were training in the beginner's class, I was looking at what the more experienced dogs were doing. Filled two 4Gb Extreme III cards, but I will get better. I could see myself improving over last week. It's just a case of practice, practice, practice.

Was quite pleased with this one. I saw the possibility of the tree and its branches and thought it might work if I tried to use them as a frame. Was annoyed with myself that I had the dog's back foot hard up against the edge of the frame.

Your thoughts and comments always welcome, especially as I'm still a beginner at this type of shooting.

Still practicing my dog agility
    40D, 70-200mm f/4L IS @ 169mm. ISO400. 1/750@f5.6

Real Name
    Bruce

Re: Still practicing my dog agility

Donald, I like the pic overall; however I think the woman is to dominant in the photo. I do not know how to correct it. Bruce

Real Name
    Jon

The back foot is a little bit bothersome but not too much. I do like how you framed it with the tree and the branches. I realize that the trainer needs to be in the shot for the connection (otherwise it would just be a dog walking on a beam 5' off the ground, and that would be really odd)...I wish she was about 8" shorter or in front of the pooch. Keep them coming Donald, they are a joy to see and bring a smile to my face.

Cheers

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

The branches work great for me.

I agree that the woman is too dominant. Try setting up your shot in advance using manual focus and an aperture that just barely keeps the bar in focus with nothing in front of it in focus.

Quote Originally Posted by Donald View Post
    Filled two 4Gb Extreme III cards