Thread: Telephoto lens question

Real Name
    Heather

Telephoto lens question

I recently purchased a Nikon D3100 which came with a 18-55 mm lens. I purchased an additional 55-300mm super telephoto zoom lens. I am a beginner so I need some advice on what I need for wildlife photography. I know that the telephoto lens will work to an extent but what other options would I have for photographing birds and animals in their natural habitat? Any advice is appreciated at this point, thank you in advance.

Re: Telephoto lens question

We really need more information before giving specific advice, Heather.

For example, I use a 180 mm macro lens for insects. Often with a 1.4x converter attached. And a 150-500 zoom for birds. In many cases, I would like more magnification on both lenses.

300 mm, or slightly less, can be perfectly adequate for some wildlife, particularly larger or tamer species. For example gulls at the seaside/dockside where they are used to people. Squirrels etc in a park are another possibility

Another option is to use some form of hide and possibly do a little feeding to attract creatures closer.

I started my macro photography by attaching a 25 mm extension tube to a 70-300 lens, mostly shooting at 300 mm. With a tripod and often using flash I was able to get acceptable results.

Real Name
    John

In addition to Geoff's comments you can include heavier lenses such as the 80-400mm, the 500mm or 600mm lens, or you could use a teleconverter that will increase your focal length by 1.4x, 1.7x, or 2.0x. However there could be drawbacks to using the teleconverter and there is the added cost of using purchasing the longer focal length lenses. 55-300mm will benefit you for most bird photography, so start with what you have and if you find it doesn't meet your expectations you can expand from there.

Real Name
    Paul Melkus

Ask your self how much do you want to spend

Real Name
    Heather