Thread: Night Shots of Waikiki - B&W

Real Name
    Shane

Night Shots of Waikiki - B&W

Still working on night shots - this time I took my new 50mm 1.8 for a walk in Waikiki. I am still learning both the shooting and processing end of things so any and all C&C welcome on these.

First the one I have the most doubts/questions about - this one was take at F8 8sec ISO100:

This one came out of the camera very blue and dark although the auto feature in ACR only indicated that the exposure was too low by .05 but it also upped the brightness to over 100! I went with the +.05 but lowered the brightness considerably from that point in processing. It is also very noisy compared to the next image and I'm not sure if that is because there is less overall light in the image? (Colin, I know, I know, but I am still trying to work this noise thing out...)

I reprocessed this image twice and fiddled with it some more as it seemed like I was losing detail in the water on the right side the first time I processed the image and I really fussed over the light vs. dark image presentation. Overall I'm not to thrilled with this one and am looking for thoughts on how to approach the scene better next time and any PP thoughts that you might have.

Next is the one that I think is better - shot at a surprising to me F4.5 also 8sec ISO100:

Did I get away with something here at 4.5 or does it work because of the distance from the subject and the fact that the buildings represent a fairly flat focal plane? Other than I don't have a lot of questions on this one and look forward to hearing what you think of it.

Both images were taken from a similar vantage point but looking in opposite directions in case anyone is curious. I chose to present these image in B&W as the bright colors, combined with the light, in the scene seemed overwhelming.

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by ShaneS; 2nd April 2013 at 05:51 AM.

Real Name
    John

Re: Night Shots of Waikiki - B&W