Thread: What tools to combine multiple images into one

Real Name
    Toby

What tools to combine multiple images into one

Hi all

I am new to post processing, and would like to accomplish the following thing:

I have multiple shots, in RAW, made with a tripod, of a building at night that is lit by three colored floodlights. Each shot has the same exposure and is mostly well-lit in itself. The colors of the floodlights changed over time, so each shot has a different coloring, but usually only two or three colors.

I would now like to combine several of my differently colored shots, to get a broader range of colors on that building.

What tools are available to achieve that? I own Aperture which doesn't seem to be able to do it, and I got the Nik collection trial, which also does not seem to be able to do what I want. Due to the steep learning curve and price, I would like to avoid photoshop, if possible.

Thanks in advance,
    Toby

Real Name
    James Edwards

Re: What tools to combine multiple images into one

Toby,
    Are you trying to stitch images into a panorama?
    If so there are a number of free and paid for programs you can use, which a web search will identify. If you are on a windows operating system Microsoft ICE is a simple programme that can be downloaded and run for free and is simple to use and quite impressive. Hugin is another program, with quite a bit more functionality.

James

Real Name
    Toby

Hi James

Thanks for the quick reply. I am not trying to create a panorama. I would like to layer the images and then selectively make the top few layers transparent at different regions, so that I can have lower layers "shine through".

Real Name
    Dan

I think you have given the answer yourself--it seems to me that the obvious way to do this is with layers. You don't need photoshop for this. There are cheaper, smaller software packages that do it, such as Paint Shop Pro.

Maybe someone else can suggest a way to do this without layers.