Thread: Lightroom 4 warning for B&W shooters

Real Name
    Mark

Lightroom 4 warning for B&W shooters

Ive been using LR 3 for a couple of years and upgraded to LR 4. On the whole im very happy with the improvements, but have made a gaff that im now regretting.

LR 4 uses new processing algorithms and when you open an image in develop mode it asks you if you want to reprocess using the new ones. being a progressive sort of dude i clicked on yes, it then asked if i wanted to apply this to all of my images and so i clicked yes......

Whilst it made very little difference to the colour images, all of my black and white stuff was re processed into a grey washed out mess . OK i can go back in the history and revert back to the original edits but i have to do that on an individual basis.

does anyone know how to reverse this global process?

from now on my default place will be "just say NO" until i totally understand how the change will work. Lesson learned.

Real Name
    Kevin

Re: Lightroom 4 warning for B&W shooters

Mark,

I did exactly the same thing with similar results, though for some weird reason it didn't effect every similarly processed images. I didn't investigate away to do a mass reversal, I just grabbed clusters, synchronized, and reset. Took some time, but it worked. I join you in encouraging others to do the reprocess one imaage at a time unless no info comes forth.

Real Name
    Mark

heres a before and after for you all, and why im here i might as well ask for some C&C which is not something i do very often because im a little shy .

the image was shot at a festival and i must admit im quite happy with the composition, its shot at 48mm and is un posed believe it or not!

48mm, F5.0 1/400 sec ISO 250 nikon D7000

any comments especially how i can improve PP welcome

Before lightrooms global alterations

sorry tiny pics keeps crashing and wont let me load the second image need to suss another way of doing it!