Thread: FREE editing software that works!

Real Name
    Andre Burger

FREE editing software that works!

Hi All,

Think I have stumbled on something that might interest those of you who are looking for editing software that does a good job – free of charge. You might not be able to manipulate images or work in layers, it is simple and does all the basics needed to enhance your images.

Whomsoever said white balance in a Jpeg cannot be corrected, think again. PhotoScape software does it and should do most for those of us who cannot afford Adobe CS6.

Go to http://www.filehippo.com/download_photoscape/ and download the latest version, if you are interested. IT IS FREEWARE. Try it.

Is anybody using it?

Real Name
    Dave

Re: FREE editing software that works!

I have been using Photoscape for a few years now and I agree it is excellent.

As you have outlined Andre it does have limitations but given those it a very good piece of software. I often find it does all I need and if I want anything more complicated then I use GIMP (which is also free).

Dave

Real Name
    Remco

Perhaps note that Photoscape is MS-Windows only; no use for us Linux users (nor for Mac users).

Real Name
    Kathy

For Linux/OSX users, I'd point to the open source Dark Table.

Real Name
    Victor Nimitz

Quote Originally Posted by inkista View Post
    For Linux/OSX users, I'd point to the open source Dark Table.
    Another nice freeware is the Photivo .
    [ ok with Linux/Windows/Mac ]

Good news for GIMP users, Photivo integrates easily into GIMP.
    check this link:

http://photivo.org/photivo/download_and_setup/gimp

Real Name
    Remco

I know (about) Darktable and Photivo...

All I wanted to point out was the OS limitations of Photoscape, I didn't imply asking for alternatives.

I just thought it might be nice when suggesting an application, to indicate the OS('s) for which it is available.

Real Name
    J stands for John