Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon Girl Seeks Camera

Real Name
    Kim Smith

Canon Girl Seeks Camera

Okay, so I'm a PAS photographer with no knowledge of lenses or camera settings. I have recently went into business selling my prints and am looking to upgrade to a "real" camera. I can only spend $400. What is a good starter camera for my speciality, nature photography? I mostly do land/waterscapes.

Real Name
    Robert Farkas

Re: Canon Girl Seeks Camera

Hello Kimberly, and congrats. on your new business! What point and shoot are you using currently, and do you have any pictures you can post, or a link to some of your pictures?
    Last edited by PhotoRob; 3rd March 2013 at 10:53 PM.

Real Name
    Richard

Hi Kimberly...

In what general geographic area do you live. The prices of cameras/lenses vary greatly throughout the world.

The prices in the USA are probly some of the lowest, however. it would be impossible to get a DSLR camera and a decent lens for $400 if you are buying new or even reconditioned. However, if you purchase a used camera that is a few generations old, you might be able to set yourself up.

I would look into getting a Canon 450D with a 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens and pair that up with a used tripod, The 450D can provide very decent imagery while the 18-55mm f/3.5-6.3 IS (make sure that it ie equipped with Image Stabilization - IS) can if shot around f/8 to f/11 tripod mounted will give very nice results.

I have looked at the used prices of other Canon DSLR cameras and lenses. Perhaps you could get a Canon 30D with a 28-135mm lens, Again, that lens can produce very nice results if stopped down a bit and mounted on a tripod.

Another handy accessory for your desired shooting would be a decent circular polarizing filter.

However, you are working at a very minimum price range.

Real Name
    Robert Farkas

Fairly recent review of cameras in the sub 500 range:

http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/equ...under-500.html