Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: No budget, question @ D100 purchase

Real Name
    Nancy (surprised you!)

No budget, question @ D100 purchase

Hi,
    My college poor neice has taken 2 photo classes and would like to get serious. With no $, I have had some folks point me toward a D100 at KEH online photo store. It is rated EX (excellent cond) at $160, and a forum member has said I could have his extra 35-70 mm, 3.5-4.5 (?) for free!
    I am no expert just having gotten my 1st DSLR last May (d7000). I hoped maybe my lenses would fit hers when I see her maybe 1-2ce a year, and with Nikons at least we would have some similar lingo....

Just some feedback is appreciated. I don't think it does video, has lower mp, takes a CF card, but if is worth getting her going, I was going to buy it for her. I see her next month for family reunion, was hoping to give it to her then.
    Thank you all,
    Nancy

Real Name
    Andrew www.adcc.me.uk/Galleries

Re: No budget, question @ D100 purchase

I had one of these a number of years ago. I remember finding it easy to use and was very pleased with the results at the time. I used it on a tour of Rajastan and was very pleased with the results. Although only 6Mp it achieved perfectly acceptable 16x20 inch prints.

Things move on and I don't know how it would stand up against today's models but as a starter DSLR I would recommend it.

Real Name
    J stands for John

When I trawl through my older files I am plesantly suprised at the results I got with my 5Mp bridge camera and my 6.3Mp Canon DSLR ... I gave up making large prints awhile back as a cost saving meaure so I'm looking at whole screen [18" diagonal ] images on the computer. Awhile back there was a thread somewhere saying that 6Mp was plenty enough for most purposes