Thread: nikon 300mm f4 and 1.4tc

Real Name
    evan north

nikon 300mm f4 and 1.4tc

does anyone use this combination for butterflies/dragonflies? i am thinking of getting one to compliment my current macro lens arsenal. (micro nikkor 60mm af-d, micro nikkor 105 af-d, sigma 150mm + 1.4tc).
    i have sometimes heard of the nikon 300mm f4 being called the "butterfly" lens but can find few examples of work taken with it, or info regarding image size at minimum focusing distance with or without a converter.
    i know it is a good starter birding lens with the 1.4 tc but is the 1.7 tc good too?
    also, some users say the quality of the tripod mount is better on the newer version than the earlier examples, is this correct? thanks, evan.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: nikon 300mm f4 and 1.4tc

Hi Evan,

I have no experience, but I know some people will use an extension tube with their telephoto for subjects like dragonflies and flutterbys. The tube shortens the minimum focus distance and allows you, subject permitting, to get closer - which effectively gives more magnification.

Tubes are cheaper than a TC, but less versatile of course - as you'll no longer be able to focus to infinity.

The TC option should allow that, so it gives you a longer lens for birds too.

I don't know what the trade-offs are in terms of light, I think both will lose you some light for a given 'magnification' increase, it may be "six" for one - and "half a dozen" with the other.

I don't believe it changes the minimum focus distance of the lens, but I hope someone that does it will be along shortly.

I mention the extension tube idea in case you already have a set.

Cheers,
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 10th February 2013 at 03:00 PM.

Real Name
    Steve