Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Chrissie Portrait

Chrissie Portrait

This is one of my recent efforts, on loc in perthshire with professional model Chrissie Red.

Funnily enough, now that I am studying full time for my professional qualification, I have far less time actually using the camera- and lots more writing essays, reading up and post processing!! Should probably get used to that then....!

Chrissie Portrait

Mike

Real Name
    Steve

Re: Chrissie Portrait

How did you get her to sit in that. Portraiture is probably my greatest interest, just unavailable because of funds, and a lot of professionals doing excellent work in fashion using medium format.

I like the picture but thought she could be wearing something slightly lighter, and not quite as body hugging.

cheers

You have done really well to keep the subject the centre of attention here. The depth of field is really long for a portrait and I suspect the image would have benefitted from a wider aperture. I am intrigued as to where the main source of light is coming from. Is the strobe to the left? If so it is a little harsh resulting in deep shadow to the right (not helped by smaller aperture). Having said that I really like the overall concept and the technicalities often fade to insignificance if the overall image works

Steve

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

I see what you mean Steve, but the EXIF says f3.5, which if a kit lens is probably wide open

I agree the flash does look to be a bit "camera left" (not a criticism, just confirming Steve's thoughts).

I find the bright curving line on the model's footwear is a tad distracting.

I do like the subdued colours,
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 31st October 2009 at 09:07 AM. Reason: added bracketed text