Thread: advice etc for camera upgrade please

advice etc for camera upgrade please

Hi

I’m quite new to digital photography though I did, back in the day, do a lot of photography with film.

I have recently bought myself a Nikon D5100 and though I do like the camera I am feeling I should maybe take it back (while I can) and exchange it for a better model. I have a few queries and am hoping people on here might be able to help me out.

1. There is no “B” setting. I like to take shots in minimal lighting and I like to experiment. I would like to be able to take exposures of a few seconds or even, in some cases, a few minutes. So I would like something with a “B” setting.

2. Looking on various sites at lenses to buy I discovered I have to buy a lens compatible for “DX,” while some other Nikon cameras had a different type of lens requirement. Does this signify a step in quality? Would I be better getting a different camera with a better lens selection is what I am really asking. (bearing in mind I do intend to kit myself out with a full range of lenses eventually)

3. After quite a bit of researching I have discovered the meaning of “bpp” and that my D5100 is 14 bpp while the optimum to go for it would seem is 24 bpp. Is this a bit over the top? Is the quality between the two significantly different? I have spent a fare bit of cash on photography equipment over the years but never had top grade stuff, always middle of the range. I have a little put by at the moment and have decided I should go for something top of the range while I can.

I do like Nikon but don’t feel I have to stick in the Nikon range.
    Any advice, suggestions or links to good comparison sites will be very welcome.

Thanx for taking the time to read all this,
    B.B.

Real Name
    Peter

Re: advice etc for camera upgrade please

Billy