Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: park benches

Real Name
    Monica

park benches

Hello, I tried a few shots over the past 2 weekends. The images were great in the small screen on the camera itself but now on the "big" screen it looked liked the images were ordinary. I'm a beginner in photography and still only halfway through the tutorials in CiC.

I've taken this photo in RAW but then re-sized it to allowable jpeg file size. I would like to know how I can get the picture to look "warm" if that makes any sense.

Looking forward to the c & c's.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Paul

Re: park benches

Welcome, Monica. looks like you have almost got the posting down. Maybe missing a step as we only got the thumbnail. Anyway, what program are you using for PP? If you have a temperature slider just slide it to where you like. You might try a cloudy white balance if you don't have a temp slider.

Real Name
    Shane

Monica; I am very new to photoshop as well and my first instinct was to put a color overlay on the shot and adjust the opacity and fill. I used something in the orange family to get the following results (I also did a quick auto curves adjustment).

Paul's advice is probably better and easier when you convert from RAW.

This is what I came up with:

park benches

Real Name
    Paul

That has worked nicely. I had a quick play as well just using the temp slider. I also gave it a slight sharp which may have been a bit much with such a small file.

park benches

Real Name
    Shane

Thanks for showing your edit Paul. Yours retains more of a glow - I wonder if the overlay takes some of that down or the sharpening that you did adds some brightness? So much to learn!

Real Name
    Paul

A little bit of both Shane. In the end it all comes down to personal preference. Before that it is just about how much work you wish to do. I like easy.

Real Name
    Shane