Thread: Software for Camera Flashguns

Software for Camera Flashguns

Dear All,

I am pretty new to photography and just finding way around the different terms and equipment options for DSLRs, CSCs etc. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could provide some input to the following question:

- I have just upgraded to a D5100 Nikon camera from my older CSC Panasonic. When I had my Panasonic I purchased a separate polaroid flashgun (model number PL144AZ) which it says is designed specifically for Panasonic and olympus cameras. I really like this flash and it is in excellent condition, so I don't want to have to buy a new one unless I have to.

Electrically the contacts on the top of my Nikon's hot shoe look the same as the connector on the flash. I have not connected the two together in case I damage them, but:

- can this flash be used within my Nikon or will one or both be damaged if I try?
    - If the issue is software compatibility between the camera and the flash, can I get a firmware upgrade for flash to make it work with the Nikon?

Thanks

JamesM

Real Name
    Paul Melkus

Re: Software for Camera Flashguns

I'm not a 100% sure but don't think it will because the hotshoe pinout is not the same as the Nikon. I'm sure there other that will add to this since I don't use a flash.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

The camera will try to talk to the flash using a serial protocol, so it's 99.99999% certain not to work.

You're going to need a Nikon flash.

Real Name
    Jim

Hi, James. I have an old old Vivitar that I use as my second flash. I use it on manual only, and my Nikon flash does the CLS. I can fire the Vivitar from the hotshoe, or an extension cable. I can't say if the Polaroid flash will fire from your camera.

Real Name
    Kathy

Quote Originally Posted by JamesM View Post