Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon EOS 5D & EF 24-70

Canon EOS 5D & EF 24-70

I would like to know if any member can help/advise me on the above combination while taking moving images. I fly birds of prey for a living and take pictures for our web site and am keen to improve my techniques and quality of pictures. I have been very frustrated for some time on the best way to get a crisp sharp image while the birds are in flight. I have tried AI Focus and AI Servo with center AF and 2.8 F and find the camera or lens just cant keep up with the focussing in flight. Over 40/50 yards the birds are not that fast and yet taking 4 or 5 in a sequence can result in all being out of focus except maybe the first taken which is a long way off! The best results so far gained have been by focussing on an object and sliding the control to MF and taking a picture as hopefully the bird flies through the focal point. Any thoughts comments advice would be warmly received. Rod
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 21st October 2009 at 09:43 PM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Canon EOS 5D & EF 24-70

Quote Originally Posted by Rod View Post
    Over 40/50 yards the birds are not that fast and yet taking 4 or 5 in a sequence can result in all being out of focus except maybe the first taken which is a long way off!
    Hi Rod,

Reading the above, I am guessing they are flying towards you rather than you being able to pan as they fly past you at roughly the same distance? Is it possible to change that?

That's a toughy for sure.

Being a Nikon man, I'll await one of the many Canonites to answer.
    I'm not sure but is there something in the shooting modes that is (for max speed) freezing on first focus, rather than checking between each shot?
    Another possibility is how many focus points is it considering? too many, not enough?

I'm waffling so I'll stop

Cheers,