Thread: Tone Curve, Sliders, Black/White/Highlight/Shadow, LCE, and more...

Real Name
    Matthew

Tone Curve, Sliders, Black/White/Highlight/Shadow, LCE, and more...

I'll start off by saying that I just did a few google searches, and also several searches on this forum and reading of threads for a good 30-40 minutes. I have not found sufficient answers that are totally relevant to my questions, so now I'm posting here. Also, please forgive me if I use any incorrect terminology, as I am still relatively new to PP and am trying to learn and improve in that area.

In LR and PS there are a variety of controls for tweaking contrast / image data, histogram, etc. A few are:

Adjustment types
    Contrast slider
    Highlights, Shadows, Whites, Blacks sliders
    Tone curve 'graph'
    Tone curve Region sliders (again, Highlights, Shadows, Whites, Blacks sliders)
    Then you also have the Levels controls in PS
    And techniques such as LCE with USM in PS

A few things that I have found out on my own:
    - Tone curve gives more control over histogram adjustments compared to levels
    - local contrast enhancement increases "local" contrast in smaller regions, while at the same time preventing an increase in "global" contrast — thereby protecting large-scale shadow/highlight detail. It achieves this feat by making some pixels in the histogram cross over each other, which is not possible when enhancing contrast using levels or curves.

Aside from the information above, I am still lost regarding the list of various controls listed above. My questions can be boiled down to:
    1 - What, simply if possible, are the differences between the 'adjustment types' listed above
    2 - How do you decide which control to use in particular cases
    3 - What are the pros and cons of one over the other, can you use them for the same things, or is each best used for a particular situation