Thread: Lensmaster

Real Name
    Peter Hilton

Lensmaster

http://www.lensmaster.co.uk/

Does anyone have any experience of this equipment at all?

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Lensmaster

No, I have no experience with it. But, it looks pretty much like any other gimbal mount. I am not sure where this rig was manufactured but, the Chinese are producing a lot of them now!

I personally like the Manfrotto Gimbal Mount.
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ty_Gimbal.html

I like it despite the incapable marketing folks at Manfrotto. They persist in illustrating the mount with the camera inverted

Lensmaster

while I and everyone I know mounts the camera upright when using this gimbal. See this Nikonian Review to see how I mount the camera upright...

http://www.nikonians.org/html/resour...393/393_1.html

The Manfrotto Gimbal is capable of supporting a large weight. See the website of Romy Ocon, the great Filipino Bird Photographer for examples of the Manfrotto Gimbal being used with an enormous load...

http://www.pbase.com/liquidstone/image/59586426

If you contact the Manfrotto folks they will erroneously tell you that their Gimbal cannot be used when the camera is equipped with a flash. That is dead wrong and shows you how totally ignorant they are of their own product. The Manfrotto gimbal can be easily modified using an inexpensive piece of aluminum stock of about 1/8" by 1" (about 3mm by 26mm or so) to hold the flash and still allow the camera to rotate from landscape to portrait position. It is also elevated enough so that a Better beamer (flash extender) can easily be used. If I were marketing this gimbal, I would have a flash bar available as an accessory as well as a case for the rig.

Lensmaster