Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Manual External Flash YN 560 II

Real Name
    Bill

Manual External Flash YN 560 II

Hi I have a Yonguo YN560 II Speedlite Flash which is strictly a manual flash. I was looking for a Distance chart in Feet instead of meters if any one could help me with that. I am new to the uses of Flashes but would like to learn. Any help or advice?

Real Name
    Bobo

Re: Manual External Flash YN 560 II

Make you own and print a small card and stick it to the back.

Use this to convert
    http://www.metric-conversions.org/le...rs-to-feet.htm

Or simply download a suitable one from here and print.
    https://www.google.ca/search?q=flash...=1358&bih=1036

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Easiest and fastest is to just make one yourself. A meter is about the same length as a yard, so just divide all the distances in meters by 3 to get you feet. If you want to be more accurate, divide by 3.3.

1m = 1.1 yd = 3.3ft

Real Name
    Richard

Unfortunately, although we have a decimal system of money in the USA, we have not evolved to the point of civilization in which we use the metric system for measurement. It is said by educators that our school kids are basically a year behind those in other nations because we persist in using our antiquated system for weights and measures...

The above posters are perfectly correct in how to convert meters to feet. HOWEVER, if you are using guide numbers to calculate exposure, you need to use a guide number that is calculated for feet rather than meters. The YN 560 II has a guide number of GN of 58 in meters and a guide number of 190 in feet @ 105 mm using ISO . The HOWEVER (again) this guide number is valid only when the flash is at 105mm and when you are using ISO 100...

BTW: the 190 guide number in feet is calculated by multiplying the 58 guide number for meters by the meter to feet conversion of 3.28084...