Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Workflow/Post-processing Overviews

Real Name
    Brian

Workflow/Post-processing Overviews

Hello all. This is my second post on the site. I just purchased my 1st DSLR (Nikon D3000) three weeks ago. Previously, I used a Sony P&S. For editing software, I use Photoshop Elements (v6).

Here's where I need help. With the DSLR, I now have the choice to shoot RAW images in addition to JPEG (or both simultaneously). From what I've read, RAW gives you more control over edits than JPEG. I have experimented with Camera Raw (ACR 5.5) in Photoshop, but I'm not sure if this is the most efficient way to process RAW photos, or if I even need to shoot in RAW.

I would like to know how other shoot, then process. Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated. Keep in mind I am an amateur with two small kids - i.e. limited budget . Thanks.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Workflow/Post processing

JPEGs are structured around small image sizes - and one of the ways they achieve that is by throwing away parts of the image that the eye can't see (eg details buried in the shadows) and then compress the rest (a bit over-simplified, but you get the idea).

What this means in practice is if you need to make any large changes to jpeg files - expecially to levels - then you basically come unstuck pretty quickly. To put that another way, JPEGs are great as a final form for an image after all of the editing has been done.

The other part of the equation is that an in-camera generated JPEG also equates to a file that has been processed according to the camera instructions (with a little help from you in the form of selected picture styles). Cameras CAN take a good shot this way, but they can also muck it up badly as well.