Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: My first photo posted here

My first photo posted here

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    Hi Linda,

To give us some examples in a post, try this step by step;
    How do I post images here?
    The good thing about this is there is no need for any pre-existing web-hosting.

Thanks,
    Hello again,

I am going to try to post a photo - hope you like it - any comments are welcome as I am still learning.

Linda
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 18th October 2009 at 08:20 AM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: My first photo posted here

Hi Linda,

Thanks for the picture, which as you can see, I have moved to this forum for comment.

One thing we would like you to do is post reduced size images in future please. These big ones take a long time to download for many members, which will mean you get less feedback.

You can use Image > Resize (it may be called something else depending on your software) and you need to set the width to say 1000 pixels, or thereabouts.

If you need more help on this, just ask and say what software you are using.

Thanks,

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Linda,

If I use any terms you're not sure about, just ask.

Now to comment on the picture; I see from the EXIF data that it was shot with a Canon Rebel XTi at 1/100s at f5.6, iso400 and 250mm.

Misty atmospherics is quite a tricky subject, especially with such a long lens as you don't get the benefit of the non-misty foreground to give a decent black reference.

The far highlights are over-exposed unfortunately.
    It's also not very sharp, probably due to the relatively slow shutterspeed at that focal length, especially if taken handheld with a non-IS lens.

The composition is quite nice and I can see why you took the shot.
    You might want to try a crop losing about 5% off the right hand side and 10-15% off the bottom.