Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Canon DPP Processing for PBase Upload

Canon DPP Processing for PBase Upload

I'm relatively new at this. I am processing my pics with Canon DPP and I want to upload them to a gallery at PBase. Is there an optimal "output resolution" to use when converting the files from raw to jpeg format? Do I need to "resize" the image for transfer to PBase? Lastly, in looking at a few trial uploads it seems that the quality of the images as they appear in DPP are significantly better than how the image appears on PBase. Anyone else have similar experiences?

Thanks

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Canon DPP Processing for PBase Upload

Hi Altosax,

Resolution isn't important - the only thing that matters is the number of pixels, which in turn is determined by how big you'd like the images to appear on monitors when displayed at 100% size.

For PBase I use 1024 pixels wide, but then again, I usually shoot in a 2:1 aspect ratio, and I like the extra width. For normal 1:1.5 aspect ratio a horizontal image that's 800 pixels wide would be a good minimum size, but you can go larger. It's really just a trade-off between something that's big enough to look good, but not so big that it chews through all of the storage space that you've bought.

Hope this helps!

Canon DPP is a rather basic programme but is probably sufficient for what you mention.

I don't think there is a recommended size for Pbase but I normally use 800 pixels wide by 96 ppi. and convert to JPEG at 90-100% compression. But I am starting with an uncompressed TIFF image.

After doing any substantial resizing I always give the image a little bit of Unsharp Mask. If the original has already been sharpened I find that something around 30-50% and 1 pixel radius usually works OK but other people may have different preferences.

And I sometimes do the resizing in 2 stages if there is a substantial alteration in size.