Thread: Nikon Lens 105 mm 2.8 - OK on DX body?

Real Name
    Suzan J

Nikon Lens 105 mm 2.8 - OK on DX body?

Hello all:

I am seriously considering the purchase of this lens, the AF-S VR Nikkor 105 mm 2.8G IF-GD, to use for my "bugs and flowers". I realize it is quite expensive. I currently own a D3100 and I do not intend to upgrade any time soon. This was my first DSLR and I am still learning. I do take a lot flower shots and have been using my inexpensive Nikkor 50 mm 1.8 lens, which has no autofocus motor and forced me to learn manual focusing. I was pleased with some of my flower shots with this lens, but I would now like to branch out (no pun intended) and attempt to use a real macro lens.

My question really stems (again, no pun) as to whether this lens is overkill for my camera body. I am of the understanding that this lens is fully compatible with both FX and DX bodies, so if I do ever decided to purchase a D600, then I suppose it would be a better investment?? How do lenses manage to fit both bodies anyway? Are the connections the same size?

I understand that using specifically designed DX lenses on an FX body will work, but will result in loss of image size and severe vignetting, but what about the other way around?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Real Name
    Mike Bareham

Re: Nikon Lens 105 mm 2.8 - OK on DX body?

This is an excellent lens and should serve you well for many years to come. I have successfully used this and similar lenses on my old D70 which is far less sophisticated than your D3100.
    The mount is similar on both DX and FX cameras, but on the former only the centre part of the image is used by the smaller sensor.
    Don't forget that because of the smaller sensor the image will be equivalent to a 150mm lens on a full frame camera.
    You can find a review of this lens on a DX camera HERE

Real Name
    James