Thread: Studio - Minimal space for studio question, from a complete newbie.

Studio - Minimal space for studio question, from a complete newbie.

Hello everyone!
    this is my first post in this forum,

My friends asked me for help about setting up a studio for photographing cloths on doll's for online shop,
    the space i have to work with is a tiny 4x2.2 meters (13'x7'),
    I've received some very nice suggestions from other forums, and would like to ask for more opinions on whether this can be done.

Option 1:
    building a light box using opaque white panels as reflectors, and using single light, looks like this:
    In theory, the white panels would soften the shadows but will flatten out the output too much

Option 2:
    Using a LastoLite Hilite illuminated background as a sidewall giant-softbox which would give head-to-toe even illumination, but also allowing me some hard contrast (because its on the side of the wall)

I haven't seen a studio in my life...so i would really love to hear the opinion of anyone with experience in studio about those options as they seem very plausible to me.

Thank you!
    -Ros

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Studio - Minimal space for studio question, from a complete newbie.

Welcome to CiC! You might want to add at least your first name to your profile and the location where you live. Once you do, that information, which can be very helpful, will be displayed along with your screen name on the left side of each post.

Your post mentions that you'll be photographing dolls but your diagrams indicate that you'll be photographing either people or manikins. Perhaps English is not your native language, so I'll mention that a doll is a miniature of a person, usually a children's toy. A manikin is a life-size depiction of a person. Please clarify what you'll be photographing, as the response you receive will be very different depending on the situation.

Hi Mike!