Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to remove shadows in post processing?

Real Name
    Reginald

How to remove shadows in post processing?

Hi Everyone,

I looking for help to edit a picture I took during an event, since I have little to no experience using photo editors or imaging programs, I would like to request a little help so I can also learn how to process images after I take them, the picture below is one I took a few days ago and I really like it, unfortunately there's this "very noticeable" shadow on the right side of the face, how do I go about removing it or at the very least to mask it somehow that it doesn't stand out? My only editing software is the one that came with my camera, Canon's Digital Photo Professional, I also downloaded the free editor Gimp 2.0, I sure would appreciate the help and if possible to detail how you've edited my photograph... my apologies as well, I think I haven't sufficiently reduced the size of this image that I uploaded at photobucket.... here is the photo I took...

I know it probably needs more sharpening and I should blur the background more so as not be a distraction, but other than knowing that... my skills in photo editing still leaves much to be desired so, any help will be appreciated

Real Name
    Gretchen

Re: How to remove shadows in post processing?

Wow, I'm not sure either. Normally, I might soften the line of the shadow with the spot healing brush in PSE, but the contrast is so great, I don't think it would work well.

The line above her eye in her eyeshadow would work, I think with the spot healing brush, but the one around her mouth would be hard. You actually have 2(?) shadows layered there.

I hope other posters can give advice, I'd like to know myself. It's a lovely shot, There should be some way to salvage it without reconstructing all of it in post processing.

I have used DPP very little, and don't know anything about Gimp.