Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Shutter count 400d?

Real Name
    Jeroen

Shutter count 400d?

Hi folks

Since I'm looking for a SLR I'm testing one this week to decide if I'm going too buy it or not. The owner wasn't completely sure about the shuttercount so I would like to know if there's a way to read the shuttercount from the camera.
    Could somebody help me with it?

thanks in advance

Real Name
    Will

Re: Shutter count 400d?

im no expert, but i think you can only get the actual number by sending it to canon. I think 50-100k is a typical rated lifespan for a shutter. Dont know if a shutter would be covered if it went within a warranty period, all things ive had to been thinking about while i scrounge

Hunt around the menu system. I've seen a few cameras that have a lifetime shot counter on them - no idea if yours is one of them though. Another way that you might be able to tell is if the camera had auto-numbering of images turned on (default), and it was never reset.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Will is pretty much "on the money" - for some reason all the manufacturers seem to be very guarded about such data (I can't for the life of me understand why).

So about the only way you'll get it is to take it to a Cacon repair shop. Off memory I think it's 50k for a 400D (could be wrong) - keep in mind though that replacement shutters aren't too expensive. Most people struggle to wear one out over the life of the camera.

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    Will is pretty much "on the money" - for some reason all the manufacturers seem to be very guarded about such data (I can't for the life of me understand why).

So about the only way you'll get it is to take it to a Cacon repair shop. Off memory I think it's 50k for a 400D (could be wrong) - keep in mind though that replacement shutters aren't too expensive. Most people struggle to wear one out over the life of the camera.