Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: (Another) Tripod question

Real Name
    Dave

(Another) Tripod question

Hi,

I want to try and get more serious about landscapes. Partly for travel, but also because I am less than five miles from the Peak District National Park, and I'm ashamed to say I hardly get out there.

I'm sure one thing that means is that I need a tripod. I've read the enormously helpful thread of a month or two back: New Tripod - HELP!! which has given me some good steers.

Just to summarise. There is no point at all in buying a poor tripod. At the same time, I am not a professional. so don't need that level of kit. Within reason budget is not a huge issue, so £200 - £300 is possible. I have a Canon 600D, and I can't see ever upgrading to a full frame camera, so my total kit weight is not great (my current heaviest lens is a 70-300mm Tamron). This is one time when being vertically challenged may be an advantage: my eye line is around 1.5m, so I don't need a very high tripod.

Weight is important to me, both for travel and for carrying around the hills. I'm thinking of a Benron Travel Angel 2 carbon fibre tripod kit, with the B0 head. The model numbers seemed to have changed since that thread, but I expect that I can work out an appropriate model.

From what I have said, does that seem like a sound choice? Other suggestions more than welcome.

I imagine that the next piece of kit I should get is an ND filter, or two.

On a related question. I also enjoy bird watching, but don't currently have a spotting scope. I'm not sure that I would ever buy one, but if I did does anyone know if these photo tripods also attach to spotting scopes?

Thanks for any help,

Dave

Real Name
    Dan

Re: (Another) Tripod question

Dave,