Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon D5000 nef Digital Workflow

Digital Workflow

I see you have a Nikon D5000. How do you like it? We just bought the same camera last month. It was difficult deciding between the D5000 and the Canon T1i. I am just beginning to shoot in RAW (both JPG and RAW for the time being), so I'm still trying to figure things out. It sure has messed up my workflow using NEF files. Prior to shooting in RAW, I was using PSE6 for the Mac and i-Photo for organizing. The workflow was easy enough. Now I'm trying to figure out how to integrate Nikon's Capture NX2 and Lightroom 2 into my workflow. I'm currently only using the trial version of Lightroom2, but I much prefer it to NX2. I really hate the NX2 interface and there is no DAM, but I've read that you get much better results with that program, and it can read the in-camera settings. Any thoughts on this?

I'm also getting ready to upgrade to PS Elements 8 as soon as it comes out for the Mac. Any suggestions as to how I might be able to integrate all four of these programs into my workflow for both RAW files and JPGS (NX2, Lightroom2, PS Elements 8, and i-Photo)?

Ideally, I'd like to do everything from Lightroom2 using PS Elements for the big jobs, but I don't want to lose the benefits of NX2 if it really does a better job with NEF files. Also not sure how I can fit i-Photo into any of this or if there will even be a need for it if I use Lightroom2.

Guess I probably should have started another post for this. Sorry, I'm new to the forum. Linda

EDIT, no worries, moved it (oh, the power! )
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 2nd October 2009 at 07:55 PM. Reason: tweaked words to suit new thread

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Digital Workflow

Hi Linda,

I couldn't get my head around NX2 either!
    Shame, it looked promising in skilled hands (in videos).

I was happy with my RAW workflow with ACR and PSE6 previously.