Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lighting Question

Lighting Question

Hi
    I have two soft Boxes with 125w Bulbs, Giving me 1000w, with a color temp of 5500k
    I have seen a Red Head Lamp on ebay, I am thinking about it, as it has a dimmer and barn doors, useful for product and portrait shots.

I am still learning the art of lighting at the moment.

The Read Head is a 800w Halogen lamp, but has a Temp of 3300K

Question is really, how this will effect the image, and will it work with 5500k or produce an unbalanced look, or maybe give a creative use ??
    Its not that expensive, but I dont want to get one, to have to get a second one, I fully understand WB, I take all my photos In RAW and have good Post Processing Skills.
    Thanks
    Kneichion

Real Name
    Nick

Re: Lighting Question

You'll be effectively mixing tungsten with daylight if you put those two together - so yes it will affect the image, just like shooting daylight flash in a warmly lit room. Two completely different light temps to deal with. If you fully understand white balance - you'll know that this can be a good thing, or a bad thing !!

Real Name
    Nick

Also bear in mind.... I'm guessing your 125W lights are fluorescent, so they'll run cool. An 800W Tungsten/Halogen light will give you, or your portrait subject pretty good skin burns if you touch it gloveless when it's running hot, and you won't get it anywhere near product shots that are prone to melting or perishing under heat.

Sound like you'd be better sticking with the cold lights at this stage, if I'm right.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Quote Originally Posted by Kneichion View Post
    . . . how this will effect the image, and will it work with 5500k or produce an unbalanced look, or maybe give a creative use ??
    Its not that expensive, but I dont want to get one, to have to get a second one, I fully understand WB, I take all my photos In RAW and have good Post Processing Skills . . .