Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Decision for 5D Mark III

Help with Decision for 5D Mark III

Hello, im new to DSLR, decided to get canon 5d mark iii. I need help in making a decision about lenses. As i said, I'm not professional, like to take pics of whatever it is, landscapes, people, animals, buildings, some little details...I love to travel and need some carry around lens which is not too heavy. From what i could get from internet, at the moment im inclined to buy Canon 24/105 f/4 plus Canon 50 f/1.4. Am i going to be "fully" covered for a start up? is it worth checking some other company lenses but Canon? Any other lens I should have instead of the 2 mentioned or in addition, and why? Thank you

Real Name
    Alex

re: Help with Decision for 5D Mark III

Hi Masha,

I would definitely get the 24-105 f4 L. A very good walk around lens.

The 50 f1.4 is a nice lens for low light shooting. But depending on what you want to shoot you have some other options. For portraits the 85 f1.8 is a real bargain in the Canon lens lineup. For wider shooting you could consider an old 28 f1.8 or the brand new 35 f2 IS. The later is not out yet but may be worth waiting for as great low light lens for use indoors.

To cover the longer focal lengths the 70-300 f4-5.6 IS L is a great choice or alternatively the 70-200 f4 IS L. Starting with the range from 24-200/300 will let you establish what focal lengths you use the most and you can expand your lens choice from there.

The nice thing about Canon lenses is that they hold their value very well. So if you do not use one much then you should be able to get 80-90% of the price back by selling it. The same is not true for camera bodies. You should see that investment as a 5 year write off.

Alex

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

re: Help with Decision for 5D Mark III

If it were me I'd grab the EF24-105 F4.0L USM - skip the EF50 - and buy an 600EX-RT flash (will be more useful than trying to coax extra light from the 50/1.8).