Thread: SB-900 - learning curve

Real Name
    James

SB-900 - learning curve

For years I have been a natural light shooter, but lately have gotten into shooting more people (and yes, you really can shoot people legally! but you have to use a camera ) so I took the plunge and got a flash. I shoot a d-300, so, after reading a bunch of reviews I decided to go with the SB-900 flash. I'm not sorry but I am lost! The flash is more complex than my camera was ! and at least so far I have not been able to find a good book on this flash. Any suggestions for bridging the learning curve?? I have been working on Photoshop (CS4 through CS-6) for 2 years now and am just starting to feel at home in the program - I don't really want to take that long to learn how to use my new flash! Any thoughts would be appreciated as I truly find myself, once again, in DeepWater !

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: SB-900 - learning curve

I would suggest that you start by reading the manual. It does cover things off fairly well. I assume that you are shooting on-camera rather than off-camera?