Thread: FF or not FF?

Real Name
    Joe

FF or not FF?

Hello all,
    Yesterday I took all my lenses and made the focus chart test and for the 35mm lens the results look a bit different than the other lenses.
    Considering the attached image, can I consider it as front focus?

Thanks in advance!

FF or not FF?

Real Name
    J stands for John

Re: FF or not FF?

It does seem to be focusing beyond the point you focused on ... if the thick line is that distance.

Have you repeated the tests?

These focus charts give an indication, but they aren't totally accurate.

Real Name
    Joe
    Yes, I did, all tests look the same as the image I uploaded

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Hi Iosif

I'm no expert on this sort of thing but I did try the test once with one of my lenses. I came to the conclusion that the test couldn't really be relied upon to give a precise result. Having said that however your result does seem to indicate that the sharpest focus is around the 6mm point behind the "focus here" point - at least to my eyes. Wouldn't this be back focus ?

Another test you might like to try is to attach some sort of test chart vertically to a wall, set your camera up on a tripod so that it is level with the centre of the chart and is facing at right angles to the chart. Then do comparison shots using autofocus (centre point) and either manual focus in magnified Live View and/or Live View mode focus (contrast detection). The latter two modes use the main sensor as the focus detector and should be spot on whereas the autofocus uses a different light path to the phase detect sensors which is where a calibration problem might occur.

Dave

Real Name
    Paul Melkus

Quote Originally Posted by dje View Post
    Hi Iosif