Thread: Photographing at a Presentation Function advice re focusing

Real Name
    Grahame

Photographing at a Presentation Function advice re focusing

Hi all,

I have been asked to take the photos at a function that involves 25 graduates from a leadership project in two days time basically because the group can not afford a proffesional photog and one of the participants knows I have a 'good' camera (yes, that's how some judge things). I have advised I am no proffesional and just a hobbyist and have not done anything like this before, but I am going to do my best to help them.

My normal mode of photography and its subjects allows me to take time, experiment, take again and with no pressure as the results are for me only. I have read many articles over the past days on event/function photography and prepared myself well and feel generally confident accept for one area.

Apart from candid, group and odd shots with little pressure there will be at some time a procession of the 25 graduates walking up to the podium indavidually, shaking hands and being presented with a certificate and they would like shots of this.

My question is which is the best focus mode to use on the D300 for the handshake/certificate handover ? I normally tend to only use 'Manual' focus or 'Single Servo Dynamic Auto Focus 9 point'. I envisage being stood in one position and ready but how fast this is going to happen I do not know, hopefully slower than the recycle time on my SB600.

For info, I intend to have the D300 set up in Manual, ISO 400/640, f5.6, 1/100th and with flash on bracket in TTL mode as a starting point.

Any advice for focusing at this specific instant will be very much appreciated especially if relavant to the D300.

Regards, Grahame

Real Name
    Phil Page

Re: Photographing at a Presentation Function advice re focusing

Quote Originally Posted by Stagecoach View Post
    Hi all,