Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: A windfall makes a difficult choice!

Real Name
    Brian

A windfall makes a difficult choice!

I've just been told that I have a second pension backdated 6 years. Not large but will be sufficient to improve the equipment I have.
    I have a Pentax K20D with a DA18-55mm kit lens and a 28-200mm Sigma lens that came with a Pentax M 50 camera I have. My dilema is which direction to go in. A more modern camera, K30 or K 5 with kit lenses or improve the glass I have. As far as glass is concerned I would like more reach as I enjoy wildlife but arthritis prevents me from sitting still for a long time or crawling through bushes. I have an old Jessops 2x converter which I'm still learning to use but communication between camera and lens is somewhat erratic.
    Basically do I go the camera way or the glass way? If it's the glass way, what glass? In order to go any way "the boss" insists on a holiday!

Real Name
    Bill S

Re: A windfall makes a difficult choice!

Brian,

Regardless of which way you go, it sounds like you have a win-win-win situation there. New camera equipment, plus 'the boss' insisting that you go on a holiday in which you will almost invariably be able to use the new toys... I'm sure plenty here are envious of your situation and wouldn't mind the difficult choice.

- Bill

Real Name
    Norman Head

Hey Brian
    This sounds like my question to answer... up until just after last Christmas, my wife and I were proud owners of a k20D and a K-x. We upgraded to a K5, but still have the two older cameras. I mainly use the K20D. The lenses we use include the DA* 60-250, Tamron 90 macro, DA 18-135, DA 35 f2,4, FA 50 1.7, 21 Limited (from which i take my nick) and the little used 18-55 (3 of them) and a Sigma 70-300.