Thread: Silhouettes: C&C please

Real Name
    Bedanta

Silhouettes: C&C please

Does any of the following silhouette images work for anybody? If not, C&C to make them work is most welcome.

Thanks in advance.

1. Bird in Flight:

2. Tree:

3. Great Blue Heron:

Real Name
    Sergio

Re: Silhouettes: C&C please

I'm no expert, Bedanta, but they all work for me. The second one kind of throws my eyes off a little because of the reflection in the water. At first I thought it was two different images (but that could just be me). Other than that I find them to be all very pleasing silhouette's.

Serge

Real Name
    Terri

I like the third one a lot. The colors are really nice.

The first one, the sun is a little bright for me. But that could just be me. I like the shape of the bird and again the color.

The second one, I don't really like that the land cuts between the sky and the reflections. Like Serge, it confuses my eyes.

Real Name
    Wayne Turner

Hi Bedanta, they are all technically good and have rich colour. I like the simplicity of the first one and I'm sue it's harder shot to take than the other two. Keep at it and look for interesting subjects around hat time of day and you will get many more.

Real Name
    Mark

#1 good shot and it works, holiday brochure stuff maybe a little soft but it still works.
    #2 too much detail in the mid ground for it to be a silhouette and really is a little busy as well.
    #3 Now this is a nice shot but the subject is to well exposed to called a silhouette however i wouldn't use it this way personally id crop in some more and lighten the bird, i think it would stand up as an excellent image in is own right, the colours are wonderful if you do want it as a silhouette then darken the bird some more.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

I like #1 and #3 and find #2 problematic, in all cases for the reasons already discussed.