Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Morning Fog

Real Name
    Kori

Morning Fog

Here are some pictures I took last weekend. I'm still learning how to take these so suggestions are great also!

I'm having a hard time deciding which one is my favorite of all the ones I took, so I have it down to 3 now.

Comments are welcome as always!

Morning Fog

Morning Fog

Morning Fog

Thanks!

Real Name
    David

Re: Morning Fog

Hi Batman44 - I've always found photographing in mist a difficult problem. Sometimes I'm lucky, mostly I'm not. In these images I suspect you've been seduced by the overall feeling of the time and place and the results are probably not quite what you would have wanted. There is some severe clipping in at least one of the images and some not so interesting foreground in others.

But, to my mind, not all is lost! I've taken the liberty of copying your No. 1 image and doing a small amount of work on it. I've cropped it severely to give mainly the tree as the area of interest, then I've done an Orton effect on it. This is partly because I've been posting on this recently, and partly because it feels correct for the subject. Here's the result.

Morning Fog

You could try the technique for yourself on the others and see what you think.

Cheers

David
    Last edited by David; 11th September 2009 at 04:20 PM. Reason: Image didn't show.

Real Name
    Kori

That looks very nice! Would you care to elaborate on "Orton Effect"? I don't know what that is?????.....
    I've seen the posts but never read through them to be honest. I will take a peek, it's most likely something my software doesn't do, but I will see and try to do some homework on this.

Thank you Very Much!

Yes, it can be difficult to successfully transfer a foggy scene from eye to camera. I've failed many times.

The first image gets my vote. To me the others look a bit like an exposure problem.