Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Equipment Insurance

Real Name
    Lynne

Equipment Insurance

Hi,

I am only an amateur, but over the past couple of years I have realised that the amount of equipment I have bought has been slowly creeping up (not sure how that happened ) but think it is probably time to get separate photographic equipment insurance.

I have Googled this and have lots of different companies pop up, but wondered if anyone could recommend a company or broker in the UK please?

I am looking for cover in the region of £4000.00 if you can buy it like that of course?

Many thanks in advance.

Lynne

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Equipment Insurance

Lynne

Look carefully at your household contents insurance.

I went down the same road as you and then looked carefully at the household policy, spoke to my broker, clarified a couple of matters (particularly about use in the field and storage in locked cars) and identified that it provided far better cover than any of the 'bespoke' camera equipment policies that I'd looked at.

My experience is that these type of policies may come into their own if the value of your gear is in the £10k/15k and above arena. But my cover is for £6k.

Of course, household contents policies are different. But it's definitely worth checking it out.

Real Name
    Bill S

Lynne,

I'm with Donald on this one. I have a separate policy that goes along with my home-owners policy that covers my camera equipment. They cover each item individually and as I add new equipment, I simply email my agent a copy of the invoice and they add it to the policy. The rates are perfectly reasonable (far better than the "extended warranty" policies you can buy in stores), and the peace of mind is just nice to have to know that if something happens I'm fully covered.

I'm in the states, and I use State Farm for my insurance provider. I don't know if that helps at all in the UK, but figured I'd offer.

- Bill

Real Name
    Lynne