Thread: Cone Pigment Inks in Epson 1400

Real Name
    Homer

Cone Pigment Inks in Epson 1400

I have been using MIS dye inks in my Epson 1400 for a couple of years. I like the inks and their low cost but they do fade. I have a few people purchasing prints frome me now, so longevity has become more of an issue.

Cone inks, www.inkjetmall.com, has a set of pigment inks for the 1400. These are somewhat more expensive than MIS inks but still less than Claria inks and they are true pigment inks. Cone claims they are of archival quality.

I'm interested in hearing anyone's experience with this system. Also, is there anything significantly different in the refilling and head cleaning process that I should know about if I switch from dye ink to pigment ink?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Cone Pigment Inks in Epson 1400

I can't answer your question, but do know a bit about dye versus pigment. My Epson 3880 is designed to use pigment based inks, In general, dye based inks are more vibrant than pigment based inks, and my printer uses two additional gray cartridges , that it needs to create more subtle colours. Your printer, I believe runs on six cartridges, while mine uses eight; nine really because it has a different black for photo versus matt paper.

Dye based inks completely dissolve in water (i.e. like a few drops of food colouring in a glass of water), while dyes are more like flour stirred into water. This means that you need larger diameter nozzles for pigments than dyes; your printer as a minimum dot volume of 1.5 picolitres, whereas mine uses a minimum of 3.5 picolitres. I would be concerned that putting a pigment based ink into your printer would clog your print nozzles as they were never designed for pigment based inks. I would also suspect that the print engine is designed around the dye based ink set and your colours would be off if you switched to pigment based inks.