Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Talking through a camera purchase - feedback appreciated

Real Name
    Terri

Talking through a camera purchase - feedback appreciated

I currently own a Canon Xsi with 2 EFS kit lenses and 2 EF lenses. We are going to buy a second camera body so that my husband will have one. What I have settled on is the Canon 7D for me and my husband will take the XSi. I just want to talk through this purchase decision. I realize that on issues like this, there are lots of varied opinions but it made no sense for me NOT to ask this great community when I'm about to spend this much money just to talk through and make sure I'm not missing glaring considerations. So here's my situation:

- I'm firm on sticking with Canon
    - Application is mostly wildlife and landscape and that's not likely to change
    - I will never actively try to sell my work (been there with weaving and I'm just not interested)
    - But I am a serious hobbyist with a desire to become very proficient
    - I will most likely buy used from a reputable dealer that rates and warranties and will only look at the top rated "like new" "E+" type (looks like I can save about 30% buying used)

Reasons for the 7D over the pro cameras
    - I can use all my current lenses
    - crop factor is an advantage in wildlife (if I understand correctly)
    - Not being a pro, I'm having trouble justifying the jump in price to a full frame that has the same or better capabilities of the 7D

A few things I like of 7D over "lower" models and the XSi
    - higher ISO capabilities since I find myself using 800-1600 a lot on my XSi
    - faster write speeds and number of frames in burst mode

One thing I'm worried about
    - weight & size with my small hands

I would welcome and appreciate comments, warnings, or anything you think I should be aware of in going forward on this. Thank you in advance!

Real Name
    John

Re: Talking through a camera purchase - feedback appreciated

Hi,