Thread: New to photography

Real Name
    morgane Clément-Gagnon

New to photography

Hi! I am new to photography. I bought a camera a few months ago and started taking pictures while travelling. This picture here was taken in New Orleans at a swing lesson. I reduced the quality for upload.

Comments and advice would be much appreciated! I want to improve.

Thank you,

Morgane
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: New to photography

Firstly, Morgane, you may find this thread about photo uploading useful

HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?

And some information about your equipment and actual shooting settings would make comments easier.

With regard to that photo. It basically looks OK but some figures are blurred, which makes me think that your shutter speed was a bit low.

Shooting 'crowds' is quite difficult as some people will always be 'facing the wrong direction' or 'doing the wrong thing'.

In this particular instance, the overall composition produces a rather confused scene. I think you may have achieved a better result by concentrating on smaller groups. Or cropping the scene to produce more compact 'stories'.

But I can't see anything drastically wrong with your general photography technique.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

This is such a nice image, especially considering that you're new to photography. Your conversion to B&W is especially nice.

I prefer images such as this when either all or none of the action is stopped. It's probably just my preference, but it's worth thinking about your own preference if you haven't already done so.

Real Name
    Orlando