Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Project 52 by Divya ( DesertRose )

Real Name
    Divya

Project 52 by Divya ( DesertRose )

Week 36

Hello Everyone

It's been a month since I started learning photography. With this project I would like to practice whatever I have learn. This week it's about "Depth of Field ". The photos were taken on September 1st, too bad I didn't notice this thread before. Comments and Critics are mostly welcome

Thanks

Divya

Re: Project 52 by Divya ( DesertRose )

I'm not familiar with that camera, Divya, but you do seem to have a lot of focus depth for F5.6. However, is that a camera which has something around F8, or less, as maximum aperture? I am used to considering settings like F5.6 as as being wide open.

And with those low shutter speeds I assume you used a tripod.

With regard to the actual photos. Well done for a beginner.

The first looks a little soft. How much sharpening did you use. Possibly, resizing for the internet has softened it slightly. I usually add a little extra Unsharp Mask after any substantial downsizes.

And for flowers etc, I often selectively apply sharpening so only the intended subject gets sharpened.

But on the other hand, excessive sharpening is often worse than too little.

With the second image, I would crop slightly closer by removing a little from the top and left side to reduce the area of distracting out of focus background blooms.

ps. Is that a spider web running from the flower to the mid lower edge?

Real Name
    Divya

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post

With regard to the actual photos. Well done for a beginner.
    Thanks Geoff

I use Nikon D 3100 with 18-55mm lens, the photo were taken at F5.6.Didn't use a tripod, the shutter speed for both the images are 1/50 and 1/30 respectively.

Thanks for the suggestions, will implement them

didn't notice the spider web in the 2nd image

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Divya, I use a D3100 as well! Nice camera!