Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: RAW/TIFF Printing

Real Name
    James

RAW/TIFF Printing

Hi all,
    First post here but I should like to say what a gem of a site this looks like. The tutorials and the information already available is truly impressive and I'm looking forward to reading it all!

I'm relatively new to photography, perhaps 18 months or so behind the lens. As such I have some beautiful images but I've yet to investigate the printing and much of the post processing steps beyond conversion from camera raw files.

This question is entirely theoretical as although I've looked into lab based photo printing I haven't actually attempted anything yet.

After starting of shooting JPG's I progressed into RAW, not only for the additional control and potential for non-destructive editing but for the additional colour range that can be captured.

I am slightly confused though, of the online print labs I have looked at none support the printing of TIFF files, only JPG's. Whilst I can convert my RAW's and TIFFs to JPG's surely this means a load of colour information will never make it to my print?

Thanks

James

Real Name
    Eugen

Re: RAW/TIFF Printing

You might be missing something in terms of image quality when converting to jpg but you won't be missing anything at all in the printed image.

The dynamic range a printer can handle is much lower than you can see on the screen; so pretty much any image format will hold much more information than any printer is able to produce.

My advice - use jpg's and have no fear.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

As per the previous post, the raw files have more dynamic range than your monitor and printer can reproduce and your eyes can see. The reason you want all that data is only while you manipulate your image in PP work. Your final step in your workflow for printing is converting the image to jpg.