Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Fox Portrait - What other PP is needed?

Real Name
    Terri

Fox Portrait - What other PP is needed?

I would appreciate input on further or different post processing on this image. I've included the original for reference. I'm pleased with the focus, DOF and expression of the fox. Here's what I did in PP (in Aperture):

-Cropped slightly to remove piece of grass on left side and some of the bright spots on the top.
    -Adjusted Luminance Levels
    -Used Curves to further adjust contrast
    -Reduced the black point slightly after using Curves
    -Dodged slightly over the eyes because my other adjustments had darkened them

I'm still learning to recognize color casts, but zoomed in on the white around his whiskers to check for that and didn't see any problem so I've left the color alone.

Thanks for your ideas.

Real Name
    Miltos

Re: Fox Portrait - What other PP is needed?

Terri first of all congrats for your image.

I find those brown highliths in the background on top distracting, you can darken and desaturate them a bit. You could also try to burn (darken) the grass in the foreground in the lower left corner a tiny vigneting to guide the eye on the fox but not sure if it will work.

Real Name
    Bobo

A fine shot.

The background and foreground look good "as is" in the original. Selectively mask in the fox from the 2nd image into the first and it should be good to go.

Real Name
    Tommy

Lovely image, and I love what you've done with your processing. I have to echo Miltos's suggestions though about the light patch in the top left and perhaps a very subtle vignette, which will help to tone down the harshness of the grass in the foreground. But I wouldn't go overboard on the vignette as I think the fox is already nicely framed in the picture.

Real Name
    Gretchen

nothing, he is very cute!

Real Name
    Terri