Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: DSLR Lens

DSLR Lens

Hi, I am a beginner in DSLR photography. I have a Nikon D5100 with a 18-55mm kit lens. I want to purchase a cheap telephoto lens with decent picture quality. I have considered the Tamron AF 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro and the Sigma 70-300mm F/4-5.6 DG Macro as they both are similarly priced and fit my budget.
    Can you please tell me which is better? Any other suggestions will also be helpful.
    Please note that my camera does not have a autofocus motor built in its body, so the lens must have its own motor.
    Thanks..

Real Name
    Tom

Re: DSLR Lens

Personally, I would not consider any long zoom that did not have VR (VS in Tamron-speak, OS to Sigma). If I needed a tele for about $150 on a Nikon cropped camera body, I would get the Nikon 55-200 VR lens. I have owned that lens in the past, and it is much better than its price would suggest. FWIW

Real Name
    Richard

Hi Asmit...

If possible, a telephoto lens with some sort of vibration/motion compensation/stabilization (IS-VC-VR, etc.) would be more versatile for you. Because you would not be a captive to high ISO and/or bright light in order to hand hold it effectively. As an example, I started off with the Canon 70-200mm f/4L lens which is an excellent quality glass but. doesn't have Image Stabilization (IS). When I switched to the IS version of this lens; I was able to use it 4-5 times more often because I could hand hold in lower light levels. I can shoot down to 1/60 second using 200mm with IS turned on. Without IS, I need at least 1/320 second (usually higher) to get a sharp image. Using a lens of a maximum f/4 aperture, the light needs to be bright or the ISO very high in order to maintain a 1/320 or higher shutter speed.