Thread: Prices of lenses of similar range very widely, why is that?

Prices of lenses of similar range very widely, why is that?

I am a newbie in DLSR and recently purchased a canon 600D. Thinking of adding wide angle lenses but found various brands with wide ranging of prices. Why it varies so much?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Prices of lenses of similar range very widely, why is that?

A fairly simple answer; in photography as in many other things, higher price means higher quality and better performance.

As a general rule in wide angles:

1. The wider the angle (smaller focal length), the higher the price. With a camera like yours, pretty well any lens with a focal length less than 35mm is wide angle;

2. The faster the lens (smaller maximum f-stop number), the higher the price. Faster lenses are often made for pro (full-frame) cameras rather than your crop frame camera, which means they have to create an image for a larger sensor, so this increases the price too;

3. With everything being equal, a zoom lens is more complex than a fixed focal length lens, so a zoom will cost you more;

4. Quality of materials; higher quality lenses will be better built, using better materials. As a example, dust and water seals, metal components instead of plastics, high index glass, glass aspherical elements, better anti-reflective coatings, etc.

5. Popularity of the lens - a high volume lens will usually be less expensive than a lens produced in low quantities because the manufacturer will be getting economies of scale in their production. Fish-eye lenses and ultra-long focal length lenses fall into this category.

Quote Originally Posted by GrumpyDiver View Post
    A fairly simple answer; in photography as in many other things, higher price means higher quality and better performance.

As a general rule in wide angles: